Julian Kemp Biography

JULIAN KEMP (Writer/Director)

At the age of thirteen Julian became a founder member of the Central Junior Television Workshop which led to a number of acting roles in UK children’s television series such as MURPHY’S MOB, PALACE HILL and DRAMARAMA. He performed in and contributed sketches to the BAFTA winning series YOUR MOTHER WOULDN’T LIKE IT.

After graduating from RADA in 1991, he turned his attention to directing, securing a position on the children’s documentary programme WISE UP for Channel 4. He directed three series (36x30mins) winning 2 BAFTAS, 2 International Emmys, an RTS, and a Peabody award. He then moved into TV drama, writing and directing a short called KEITH for the European Broadcasting Union which won the Prix Danube in 1997. He followed this with a children’s comedy series, written by Tim Firth, called ROGER AND THE ROTTENTROLLS and winning a BAFTA for series one. In 1997, he went to Australia to co-write and direct an adaptation of Morris Glietzman’s book BLABBERMOUTH. This comedy drama about a young mute girl trying to fit in a rural Australian community won an International Emmy, an Australian Film Institute award and a BANFF award.

Julian got the opportunity to direct his first feature film in 1999. Set in South Wales, HOUSE! was the story of an usher at a small bingo hall under threat of closure, who discovers she has psychic powers. It starred Kelly Macdonald, Miriam Margolyes and Freddie Jones and received a wide release by Pathé in Spring 2000.

In the meantime, Julian worked extensively as a television director. Among many projects, he created, wrote and directed a ten part comedy drama DANGERVILLE for ITV. Concerning an elaborate fictional reality programme run by a malevolent corporation, the series would get 2nd prize at the Prix Jenese. He also shot a twelve part comedy series called UNCLE MAX in Johannesburg starring David Schnieder.
SHERLOCK HOLMES AND THE BAKER STREET IRREGULARS was a two-hour BBC drama that Julian shot in late 2006. It starred Jonathan Pryce, Bill Paterson, Anna Chancellor and Michael Maloney.